Close photo mode

    Nobel Prize winner in Literature unveiled

    The awards ceremony will take place on December 10 in Stockholm

    Baku. 5 October. REPORT.AZ/ The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2017 is awarded to the English author of Japanese descent Kazuo Ishiguro.

    Report informs citing the foreign media, the information has been circulated on the website of the award.

    Notably, biophysicists Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson have won the Nobel Prize in chemistry for inventing new and better ways to see molecules. The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has today decided to award the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm.

    Three U.S. researchers have been awarded the Nobel Prize in physics for their work in detecting gravitational waves - ripples in space and time that travel throughout our Universe. The recipients are Rainer Weiss, a physics professor at MIT, and Kip Thorne and Barry Barish, who are both physics professors at Caltech.

    Notably, the names of the laureates in the field of economy will be announced on October 9. The Nobel Peace Prize winner will be announced on October 6.

    The awards ceremony will take place on December 10 in Stockholm, Sweden. In 2017, the winners will be given 9 mln Swedish krona ($ 1.12 mln). The Nobel Prize for the first time since 2001 has increased its premium by 12.5 percent. Earlier the winners were given 8 million kronas or $ 931,000 in cash.

    If you find out orphographic mistake in the text, please select mistaken part of the text and press Ctrl + Enter.

    This post is also available in other languages:

    Last added

    At least one category must be selected

    All news

    Orphus sistemi